Uncategorized

MARKET RECIPE:  Market Dessert – Strawberry Ice Cream & Shortbread (Sandwiches)

Ice

By Brooke Marshall

It’s strawberry season, or at least it was.  It seems strawberry season has been cut a little short this year because these berries love water about as much as the Wicked Witch of the West.  All that spring rain had me worried, but we’ve been lucky to have lots of strawberries at the market the past two weekends.  So I wanted to do something with them I’ve never done before, and that something turned out to be ice cream.

One of my favorite summertime desserts is an ice cream sandwich.  Typically, I cheat and buy my favorite store-bought cookies and ice cream.  Then seconds after I get home, I smush the ice cream between the cookies, wrap them in plastic wrap, and throw them in the freezer.  These are simple, delicious, and ready to eat in no time, but I thought it might be time for me to make ice cream sandwiches from scratch.  I have to confess, I still cheated.  I did make strawberry ice cream sandwiches from scratch, but I didn’t come up with my own recipes this time.  I relied on the expertise of the Serious Eats writers for the strawberry ice cream and shortbread recipes.  They both turned out to be great recipes.  The ice cream and shortbread pair together nicely, whether you decide to put them in sandwich-form or not.

three

STRAWBERRY ICE CREAM & SHORTBREAD (SANDWICHES)
Serves 8

Recipe Links:

Note:  For the shortbread recipe, instead of using a tart pan, I used a 13”x9” inch baking pan so I could make rectangular cookies for ice cream sandwiches.  This size pan was perfect to get 16 cookies for 8 sandwiches.

two

Assembling the Sandwiches:

Notes:

  1. The ice cream needs to be very frozen to easily make sandwiches. After making the ice cream, it should be frozen overnight before attempting to assemble the sandwiches.
  2. Once you take the ice cream out of the freezer, you’ll notice that your first sandwiches are easy to make, but as the ice cream begins to soften, it will become more difficult. Therefore, it’s best to work as quickly as possible.  To make things move more quickly, I lay out the plastic wrap that I use to wrap each sandwich on the counter before I take the ice cream out of the freezer.  I also lay out the cookies so I can work through them like an assembly line.
  3. After you make a sandwich, put it directly in the freezer. If you wait to put them all in when you’re done, you’ll likely end up with very messy sandwiches that look like they melted and refroze.

11263081_907917222602896_6098781368158266639_n

 

Brooke Marshall is a market volunteer, Ambler socialite and overall good egg. This season she will be the market’s resident locavore, turning market proceeds into culinary delights. If you see her at market, say hello. And if you make one of her recipes, bring it to market for her approval. Only kidding about the last part.

Leave a Reply

