Uncategorized

MARKET RECIPE: Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

stuffed-portobellos-1

By Brooke Marshall

This summer has been one of excess for me.  I cooked, preserved, and ate in excess all summer long.  Now I’m paying the consequences.  I’m behind on my house projects and my jeans are just a bit too tight.  Normally, people are worried about fitting into a bathing suit.  I, on the other hand, am worried that I won’t fit into my winter clothes!  So it’s time to rein it in and start thinking about meals that are both quick and healthy.

One of my favorite things to make that falls into this category is stuffed Portobello mushrooms.  I’ve been making them for years, but now love the fact that the main ingredients I’m using are all from the Ambler Farmers’ Market.  Davidson’s Exotic Mushrooms has wonderful Portobellos and there’s amazing goat cheese available from Apple Tree Goat Dairy.  I was lucky enough to be able to use the tomato sauce I canned earlier this summer when I made this, but Clay Brick Farms also has their own jarred sauce you can use.

These stuffed mushrooms have such a rich flavor, it’s hard to believe they’re healthy.  I made them for my Dad once and he said if he could eat vegetables like this, he could stop eating meat.  I consider that two thumbs way up!

I like to pair these mushrooms with some type of side salad.  This time I just dressed arugula with a homemade balsamic vinaigrette.  There will be lots of fall greens at the market soon, so choose your favorite.  Also, if you want to switch things up, you can stuff Cremini mushrooms instead of Portobellos for a delightful appetizer.  Just cut down on the baking time a bit.  Whether you make these for a meal or an appetizer, these stuffed mushrooms are a winner.

stuffed-portobellos-2

STUFFED PORTOBELLO MUSHROOMS

Ingredients:

  • Portobello mushrooms
  • Tomato sauce
  • Goat cheese
  • Fresh thyme or other herb
  • Pine nuts
  • Salt and pepper

stuffed-portobellos-3

Recipe:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Then line a baking dish with parchment paper or spray the dish with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Rinse the mushrooms and pat them dry with a paper towel or clean dish towel. Then cut down the stems and place the mushrooms topside down in the baking dish.
  3. Fill the mushrooms with the tomato sauce, goat cheese, and thyme. Then sprinkle the mushrooms with salt and pepper.
  4. Bake the mushrooms for 25-30 minutes.  Remove the mushrooms from the oven and top with pine nuts.  Then bake the mushrooms for 5 more minutes.

11263081_907917222602896_6098781368158266639_nBrooke Marshall is a market volunteer, Ambler socialite and overall good egg. This season she will be the market’s resident locavore, turning market proceeds into culinary delights. If you see her at market, say hello. And if you make one of her recipes, bring it to market for her approval. Only kidding about the last part.

Leave a Reply

